Skin Care & Natural Skin Care

Tonight I felt like making a beauty blog post!

I’m not a skin care insane fanatic, but I have always tried to take care of my skin especially my face and neck.   I also tend to do the au-naturale face, I don’t wear makeup every day. Most days I have a routine of toner or serum and lotions- eye lotions and face lotions preferably with some SPF.  Makeup is fun, I love it, but I’m just not an everyday make girl.  I do however use my eye lash curler (probably multiple times a day, lol) as well as sometimes fill in my eyebrows for a fuller darker look.  Also, sometimes I like to dye my eyebrows and eyelashes for a darker color that feels like makeup.

Anyway I have some tips and a list of skin care I wanted to make- maybe as much for myself as blog readers :). I have been meaning to do this post for a while.  A lot of the tips are from homemade recipes with things around the house and are less expensive and simple- and you know what goes into them!

olive_oil_lg– I have posted before about making sugar scrubs from products around the house, including using oils like olive oil, coconut oil, flax seed oil, etc.. Cleaning the skin with oil is great– your skin feels hydrated, smooth and clean. A good facial recipe:

Directions: Mix 1 tbsp plain Greek Yogurt, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp Lemon oil (find at health food stores, not lemon juice, can use other essential oils but this is very cleansing and uplifting), ingredients together, will be a little runny, massage into skin, immediately wipe off with a washcloth with tepid water (Tepid water is a mixture of 1 part boiling and two parts cold water but you can also use warm water). This can be done daily.

– I always feel like my eyes are a little puffy- a good remedy for this besides cucumber slices, is an eye cooling pack from the store- it is reusable, or after cleaning your skin brew a cup of green or chamomile tea, let cool, soak two clean makeup sponges in tea, squeeze out excess water and let sit on eyes for 15 minutes.  An alcohol free toner is also good for cleaning and tightening pores.  I also like the store bought pore cleaning strips.

– I got these other recipes from Woman’s Day and I like them but there are plenty out there- including Martha Stewart and Wellness Mama- http://wellnessmama.com/7569/oil-cleansing-for-naturally-perfect-skin

Moisturize: rolledoats

Grind 1 Tbsp oatmeal in a blender, set aside.  Add 1 Tbsp fennel seeds to 1/2 cup boiling water and make a tea. Let seeds to steep for 10 minutes; strain seeds and discard. Let tea cool down to room temperature and combine 1 Tbsp of the fennel tea with 1 Tbsp ground oatmeal and 1 Tbsp honey.  Apply to clean face. Leave on for 20 minutes. Rinse off with tepid water followed by a cool rinse. Do up to twice weekly.

Mask for Oily/Combination Skin

Mix 1/4 cup cooked oatmeal, 2-3 tbspn plain yogurt, 1 tblsp honey. Apply to face. Leave on for 10-15 minutes. Rinse with cool water.

More (http://multiculturalbeauty.about.com/od/Skincare/a/10-Oatmeal-Facial-Masks.htm)

Lift & Tighten: Combine 2 Tbsp plain yogurt with 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (the juice of one lemon) and apply to skin. Let mixture dry for 20 to 30 minutes- the mask tighten on skin, creating a lifting and firming effect and a semi-face-lifting effect. Once done, rinse with tepid water and follow by a cool rinse. Do up to two to three times a week.

Brighten: Combine 2 Tbsp sour cream with 2 Tbsp honey and 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. Mix all and apply to clean skin. Leave on for 20 minutes. Rinse with tepid water followed by a cool (not cold) rinse. Do twice a week.

Soothe: Mix 2 Tbsp honey and 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. Apply to clean skin and leave  for 20 minutes. Rinse with tepid water followed by a cool rinse. Can be done three times a week.

– I love steam on my face- obviously not boiling hot steam, but steam from the shower or boil a large bowl of water, place face over with towel over head and steam for a few minutes, gets cold eventually. This really opens the pores for cleaning.

IMG_1215editedAnother version:

Fill a sauce pan with water, add a spoonful of oil- evoo or coconut oil, any oil works, and bring to boil.  Turn off stove once boil gin, add a tea bag (green tea, chamomile, etc). Steep for a few minutes, remove tea bag. Transfer hot tea to a large bowl. Take bowl to relax spot like kitchen table, drape towel over back of neck and sit over the bowl- careful of the heat! If too hot sit further away. This is like a specialized steam bath for the face.  Relax 5-10 minutes, dab off remaining moisture from skin. Moisturize face with small amount of coconut oil.

– I find a lot of makeup removers harsh but lotion is a good remover.  More natural removers can be good.  Here I would like to throw in my call for people to search to use more Cruelty Free products. We know what works for makeups and I think it is time we start asking more companies to stop testing makeup on animals. I know the Body Shop is cruelty free and I love their products!  I also love Aveda – they are cruelty, free, vegan and fair trade.  I like their Tourmaline line for skin care- works great but pricier than homemade recipes. There are plenty of other great lines like Ahava, Arbonne, Burt’s Bees, elf, NYX (http://www.leapingbunny.org/skin.php).  Not all products I use are cruelty free, but I try to buy quality ones that are, most products have the labeling symbol on the back with the bunny  saying cruelty free.

– I learned you can use chafing gel as a primer for makeup- same ingredients and cheaper.

– Anbesol or a numbing gel is great for dabbing a tiny bit on before you wax, pluck or thread!  Another great product I like is Nair- painless, fast and easy.

– A lot of people recommend a juice cleanse for the skin.  Personally juice cleanses are not for me- maybe 1 days worth.  I do like fresh, raw juice however and even just a glass helps a lot for glowing effect and energy perk up!

– Of course, drink more water!

Read more: Home Facials – Get Natural Skincare Ideas at WomansDay.com – Woman’s Day

